• Banana
  • Apple
  • Emerald
  • Chocolate
  • Charcoal
Bananasrawesome

Don't like Lua

Question

I am currently studying C++ and know nothing about Lua. I know Batch pretty well so can someone tell me how I could add MS-DOS to my copy of the mod? The only thing I could do in the mod is put computers together and find ways to power them. Also, a separate mod adding MS-DOS to Open Computers would be cool. Please be sure it is compatible with Minecraft 1.7.10 because 1.7.10 seems to be the most stable version.

9 answers to this question

The only way to use another language (unless you write the whole interpreter in Lua and use it as a boot script) as the core of OpenComputers is to make it yourself with Java or Scala, using this: http://ocdoc.cil.li/tutorial:modding_architecture (And wow I noticed it got easier).
Implementing an OS directly through this mechanism has little interest, and I'm not sure it can be done (Hint: It probably can.).

Someone had wrote a JavaScript architecture (Look in Addon Mods), and there were projects to implement both ARM and x86 architectures. (ARM has been dropped, and I'm not sure about x86 but I'm pretty sure it was.)

Sadly, I doubt machine code will ever be a thing as it's a really big task to emulate an actual CPU and have it run smoothly enough, load code from EEPROM, and have all APIs implemented and stuff. Maybe someone will take on the challenge some day, though. I'm shrugging heavily at whether or not there is a possibility.

I am currently studying C++ and know nothing about Lua. I know Batch pretty well

Let me help you rethink your life:

Lua's easier than C++ and you'll probably enjoy it much more.

It's fairly lightweight but there's some funky stuff you can do with metatables and closures and whatnot.

Also, join us on IRC, seriously.

As long as you can read some documentation and have some idea of how to use a search engine, you'll do just fine.

----

While I'm at it, might as well address this point: