• Banana
  • Apple
  • Emerald
  • Chocolate
  • Charcoal
XanderRadio

Multi program server for base

Question

i am making a server for my modded base on a server and i need it to be able to run several programs at once so that i can control multiple things at the same time, i would like to be able to also create new programs and modify code without interrupting the other programs running on the server. if this is possible please help, try to make the solution as simple and explainable as you can as i am rather new to open computers coding as far as crazy advanced stuff goes so try to make it have as few lines and variables as possible...

thanks in advance, XanderRadio

2 answers to this question

What you're looking for are daemons/services.

These are programs that run in the background while your gui is available in the foreground for you to use as normal.

Trouble is, they're kinda complex :P it took me far too long to understand how to use them!

Simpler solutions could be turning all of your functions into separate lua scripts and having a central program execute them one by one, round robin style.

As long as the scripts don't take too long, this would probably serve your purpose.

Of course if you want proper multithreading (i.e. running everything at once) then simply use multiple computers and you'll find a good deal of the technical issues just melt away.

Of course that solution isn't the cheapest...