• Banana
  • Apple
  • Emerald
  • Chocolate
  • Charcoal
idnthvn

Help to make colored Text

Question

Okay, so i am a complete NEWB with lua. Never programmed in my life. 
I have watched the tutorials and none of which help me at all. 

I want to basically copy the idea of ComputerCrafts 

term.setTextColor()

where i can set what i am printing/writing on the screen in color. 

i can do 

local term = require("term")
local component = require("component")
local gpu = compontent.gpu

term.clear()

print(gpu.serForeground(0x2E86C1) .. "Test")

This changes my entire text to a blue. rather then just color the text i want in that line. 

Any help would be great.   Maybe this can be used for beginners to simply be able to make a Rules/Info page on their Server (Which is the idea i am after)

Sorry for the NEWB questions. 

Thank you

3 answers to this question

Well, last i checked ComputerCraft does essentially the same thing without hexadecimal if i recall correctly, but the way i would go about it is on the next line, change it back to white with

gpu.setForeground(0xFFFFFF)

so your finished code would be

local term = require("term")
local component = require("component")
local gpu = component.gpu
term.clear()
print(gpu.setForeground(0x2E86C1) .. "Test")
gpu.setForeground(0xFFFFFF)

I will try to help you as best as I can.

First of all, this is not CC(Computer craft), so, don't you dare to try and port some code etc. It is kind of similar, and a buch of stuff can be portet, yet still it is different in a way.

In order to have colored things on ya screen you may want to use... I belive tier 2 and up? But just in case, uset T3 screen and T3 gpu.

I will write a bunch of code, hope you will understand, but first a bit of syntax, so you aren't confused. Whenever I will use '---' without quotes, that means that everything after those three dashes is not a part of code and OC won't compile it untill you start new line with enter. And that is all.

So, code...